Beautiful park, lots of great scenery views! The tower has been rebuilt and is Open! A suspicious fire destroyed the original tower in 2013.
This tower is larger than the old one and features a handicap accessible ramp so everyone can enjoy the views from the top. So the new observation tower at Wall Springs Park is now open, and is the perfect spot for take sunrise and sunset panoramic photos. But the beauty of the Springs itself is a such a relaxing spot to pass the time looking at the flow of the water, sensing the smell of fresh water is a gift right there to enjoy
History:
The property in and around "Wall Springs" was purchased by Charles F. Wall on February 28, 1884 and remained in his family until May 17, 1927 when the property was sold to Harry W. Davis.
Facts & Information
on the Spring:
The source of the spring is the Upper Floridian Aquifer
The flow varies from zero during drought to a high of 7,405 gallons per minute
During periods of high rainfall, as much as 10.7 million gallons of water can flow from the spring in 1 day
The average water flow is 2,917 gallons per minute or about 4.2 million gallons per day
The spring water temperature remains at a nearly constant 74 degrees
Swimming is not allowed in the spring because of the danger to the ecosystem
The spring became known as "Wall Springs" during ownership by the Wall family. Once the property was sold to the Davis family, the spring became known as "Health Springs" and was used as a health spa. When the property was purchased by the Cullen family on February 6, 1948, the spring name changed back to "Wall Springs" and the area was used as a recreational area until the mid 1960's.
The spring and adjoining pond were used as a spa and bathing area from the turn of the 20th century until the mid 1960's.
Pinellas County began acquiring the Wall Springs property in 1988, with the initial purchase of approximately 63 acres, which included the spring and surrounding area.
Pinellas County has continued to
acquire additional property since their initial purchase with the most recent acquisitions in December, 2008 and April, 2009. Wall Springs is now approximately 210 acres in total size.