Mission San Fernando Rey was founded on September 8th in 1797, the 8th mission founded by Father-President Lasuen after the death of Father Serra. Three other missions that Lasuen founded in 1797 were Mission San Jose (June 11th), Mission San Juan Bautista (June 24th), and Mission San Miguel (July 25th). Father Lasuen founded his last mission in 1798 at Mission San Luis Rey.
Founded as 'La Mision del Senor Fernando, Rey de Espana,' it was the 17th mission along the Camino Real. During the Spanish Portola Expedition in 1769, Padre Cresti named the valley 'Santa Catalina de Bononia de los Encinos' as he documented their travels. Mission San Fernando Rey was built here (now the San Fernando Valley) on property that was owned by Mission San Gabriel.
The Mission's first church was completed in 1799. Due to population growth, it was replaced by a 2nd church in 1800. The first adobe/tiled roof church (3rd church) was completed in 1806 as was the Mission's quadrangle.
In 1810, the construction of the 'Convento' (long building) began. When it was completed in 1820, it would become the largest adobe structure in California.
In December 1812, two earthquakes shook Mission San Fernando. On Dec. 8th (the Wrightwood Quake), many of the mission's buildings were seriously weakened or collapsed. A subsequent quake on December 21st caused the church to be severely damaged. Only the Convento was left standing. New beams and buttresses were added to stabilize and rebuild the Mission's church.
In 1813, the long 20 arch walkway was completed in front of the Convento. Between 1819 and 1820, the second story was added.
Secularization occurred in 1834 and Mexico took possession of Alta California with its Spanish missions. In 1845, the Mexican governor Pio Pico leased Mission San Fernando to his brother. During the Mexican-American War, Fremont (US Army) temporarily occupied the mission in 1847.
In 1862, President Lincoln returned Mission San Fernando to the Catholic Church. But much of the mission was stripped away by settlers and it fell into decay. It wasn't until 1916 that a local group (Landmarks Club) started restoration of the ruins. The Catholic Church started restoration in 1923. By 1941, the Catholic Church was able to re-dedicate the restored church.
In 1971, the destructive Sylmar Earthquake broke the main beam of the church. It was torn down and the Mission's 4th church on site was built. It was dedicated in 1974. The Northridge Quake in 1994 damaged many of the Mission buildings including the Convento. Restoration occurred in 1997-1998.
Mission San Fernando Rey, along with many of the other CA Missions, has been impacted by one disastrous earthquake after another. Today, it is an active parish in addition to being a historical museum. Peacocks (evidently historically correct) roam the grounds containing beautiful gardens and fountains. With the 2-story adobe Convento with its long line of exterior arches, the Mission is as impressive as it is beautiful. Hope lies here as well.